Offence is the Best Defence

Primark (Penneys in the Republic of Ireland), an Irish company, whose headquarters are in Dublin, have apologised after one of its Belfast staff was warned for wearing a Christmas jumper adorned with the words, ‘Nollaig Shona’, the Irish for Merry Christmas.

BBC News – Primark sorry after ban on employee’s Irish language Christmas jumper
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-67784572

It’s sad that in this day and age, people are afraid that a simple message, in a different language, could cause offence. It’s even more sad that, had this message been in any language other than Irish, it wouldn’t have been an issue.

The manager who took it upon themselves to see offense where none was intended, should be strongly encouraged to attend a course in language and cultural awareness.

Author: Seimimac

Born in the South, moved home to the North, raised in the West. In the shadow of Our Wee Mountain, I like to wax lyrical and can be wrong in two languages at once! I wear my Cultural Coat with pride, usually over my nerd anorak. I love my language, history and culture; heavily into L&H, even on a first date. As debaters go, I'm a master. At least, I think that's what she said.

One thought on “Offence is the Best Defence”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started